Heng Kee Bak Kut Teh, Jaya One

Mr. T has a craving for BKT lately. It must be the weather.

I wanted sushi for lunch but we walked past Heng Kee Bak Kut Teh and Mr. T urged me to try it out.

Heng Kee offers set meals which come with choices of pork meat (dry or soup), vegetable, side dishes like 油条 (yau char kway) or beancurd skin and a pot of tea. We took the first set (for 2-3 pax) that costed RM 28.

The pork belly had more fat than meat and the sight of it irked me because as much as I love pork belly, I do not consume the fat (yes, I know I defeat the purpose of eating it). The soup was light but did not have a strong flavour of the herbs.

For dry BKT, we chose the pork knuckles. It was actually braised pork knuckles and there was nothing BKT-related about it.

One complaint I have: the soup they serve is always minimal. Last Sunday when I revisited Heng Kee, I measured the soup in the bowl (specifically for yau char kway) with a chopstick and the soup level neared an inch of the tip of it.

I don’t intend to return to Heng Kee at Jaya One as my favourite BKT place is still the one in Old Town PJ, also known as Heng Kee. If you like light BKT soup, Heng Kee at Jaya One may be an ideal place for you.

Similarly like Tak Fok, most of the waitresses at this restaurant do not speak English or Cantonese. And of course, this place is non-halal.

Rice: RM 1.50 per person

Heng Kee Bak Kut Teh,
59-LG2, Block D Jaya One,
No. 72A, Jalan Universiti,
Petaling Jaya.
Tel: +603 79605689

2 thoughts on “Heng Kee Bak Kut Teh, Jaya One

  1. Funny but my parents said the exact same thing regarding the food here! They live in Section 17 so were looking forward to having Heng Kee nearby but after trying it once, they won’t go back and will stick to the one in Old Town.

Leave a Reply

