Cedele, Ngee Ann City

Since I was in Singapore, I took the opportunity to have a cuppa at one of their cafes. I initially wanted to go to Pique Nique after viewing their macarons on display but was let down by the long queue (sorry SG, I don’t like the idea of queuing up for food).

I went over to Cedele where I was first in line and waited for 10 minutes. It’s a very busy cafe with tables set apart so closely to each other that I could hear my neighbours’ conversations – and I didn’t feel comfortable about it. Mr. T & I remained quiet throughout our tea session.

Honestly, I didn’t read anything from this sheet when I was there and only realised that Cedele was an organic food cafe when I surfed their site. They had an all-day breakfast menu which I had to pass because I was still full from lunch.

Lemon Meringue Pie, SGD 4.20

I ordered the meringue pie because the next table was having it and it looked as if the taste could not go wrong. But I had second thoughts after having one bite – the absence of lemon taste was rather disappointing.

Mulberry Tea, SGD 5.50 (pot)

What I really liked about Cedele was that they had a huge range of teas, including non-caffeine ones. I picked mulberry tea because I’ve never tried it. That turned out to be the second wrong option of the day: it was bitter, had a funny aftertaste and I didn’t enjoy it.

Chocolate Truffle Cake, SGD 6

Mr. T picked the truffle cake and it was heavy for the both of us. The dark chocolate taste was very strong and the creamy texture reminded me of chocolate mousse.

He also had the iced vanilla cappuccino (SGD 5.50) which he commented was alright – I don’t drink coffee so I didn’t taste it.

Cedele. Eat well, be well. Unless you are adventurous, order familiar items from the menu!

Cedele by Bakery Depot,
#B1-37 Ngee Ann City,
391 Orchard Road,
Singapore.
Tel: +6562352380

Leave a Reply

